Virtual reality should be used as a tool for therapeutic interventions and mental health treatments. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, continuous progress made possible the invention of technologies that we could not even imagine a decade ago, like virtual reality. It represents a very young discovery, so it can be difficult to expose all the possible arguments about that, although this essay will cover my personal opinion in regard. Alternative reality and the virtual universe are now a world in which every person can dive in using technical gadgets like visors, and so on. There are multiple and variable uses of this technology, for instance, it has been largely used in the videogames industry, but also in creating a parallel reality where they are projected everyday objects, shops and art. Despite its large use, it is a very new approach to life, indeed it requires more time to really understand how it is portrayed in the human being mind. Furthermore, thinking about using virtual reality to develop therapeutic materials and mental health treatments represents an interesting and very ambitious project. It could represent the discovery of a way which finally communicate even with patients who do not see the world like it is, for instance, an idea could be to show their fears and phobias to mental patients to try to beat it in a virtual contest and then have the same results also in reality. Even though, the other side of the medal is that individuals suffering from mental illnesses, for example schizophrenia or borderline disorder personality, could easily lose control of this fantasy universe becoming dangerous for themselves and others since doctors are not capable of predicting or controlling what could go on in his mind. In conclusion, using VR to develop new ways and methods of treatments is a challenge that is worth pursuing, although more years of study and experiments are needed before making a decision so delicate.