Plastic shopping bags contribute to the pollution of land and sea, some think they should be banned. Do you agree or disagree? Give examples of your knowledge.

Plastic bag usage is increasing at an alarming rate, and it is one of the main reasons for land and sea pollution as people often dispose of them after one time use. I totally agree with this opinion that government should gradually prohibit them from being used for shopping purposes. Firstly, plastic bags have a detrimental effect on the environment because they are non-biodegradable. In other words, it may take hundreds of years for a plastic carrier to decompose into pieces. Therefore, when the bags are buried into the soil or thrown into the ocean and eaten by wild animals, plastic is entered into the food chain, causing major concerns and even lead to death when ingested. For example, many aquatic mammals especially the whales are dying due to swallowing plastic bags and this is a great loss to the ecosystem. If happens repeatedly, it is likely that aquatic animals will be extinct. Secondly, plastic bags consists of many toxic chemicals which will negatively impact the surroundings when they are burnt. These harmful by-products will be released into the air, resulting in the gradual development of deadly and chronic diseases like cancer when people inhale them very often. For instance, a survey conducted by world health organization found that 65% of people globally having lung cancer and this is due to inhaling the burning harmful substances which is plastic bags. Thus, it can be very deadly to humans also. In conclusion, I believe that authorities should impose strict regulations to ban the use of plastic because of the detrimental impacts on animals and humans. Thus, affecting the whole eco-system.