In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

In this era, with the advancement in technology mobile payments have been growing rapidly. Paying for goods and services via these sources are becoming popular not only in developed countries but also in emerging nations across the globe. This essay will discuss the pros and cons and provide arguments that there are more merits. Firstly, the main significant reason is the convenience it offers to people. In other words, one does not need to carry cash or exact change to buy certain things and can easily pay using a single tap. Secondly, payments through these platforms are recorded digitally and secured. Therefore, one does not have to keep track of the transaction, which makes expense management a breeze. For example, Paytm and Apple pay, are online payment sources, allows people to send and receive money as well as pay for goods and other services at any time. Thus, these apps quite useful to everyone as it can be used at one's own convenience. However, there is one drawback to using these digital platforms which is that they are secured. In other words, these apps are frequently prone to cyber-attacks and payments are not securely deposited. As a result, many people using these features fall prey to hackers. The financial information saved on the cell phone can also get exposed and misused if the device is stolen. For example, a survey conducted by cybersecurity found that 40% of people have claimed that their credit card is being used without their access and payment is done from their pocket. Thus, these cellular pay apps are not 100% efficient. To conclude, making payments through mobile apps certainly poses some security concerns, but I believed the advantages offered by these platforms outweigh the disadvantages because they allow the transfer of money from anywhere and at any time.