Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is argued that history plays a significant role in school subjects while others believe that nowadays subjects such as science and technology are more important than history. while learning history can help students guide their decisions, I believe that studying the latter subjects relating to science and technology sectors is crucial to securing a good job and salary. The reason why people think history is vital is that history provides invaluable insights into the past, shaping their understanding of the present and guiding their future decisions. By studying history, individuals can learn critical thinking skills, cultural appreciation and civic engagement. For instance, understanding the causes and consequences of past conflicts like World War II not only informs students about global dynamics but also prompts reflection on the importance of diplomacy and peace-building in contemporary society. History empowers students to navigate complexities, appreciate diversity, and contribute meaningfully to a world shaped by its past. However, I believe that mastery of science and technology will hold more initiative. With more and more repetitive work replaced by machines, people now are living in a creativity-based society. Studying science and technology makes students able to easily find a job that pays high wages. That is to say, working in the majority of modern workspace requires up-to-date technological information aiming to improve the quality of work and to compete with others, and in turn, those employees will earn good remuneration. For instance, many IT graduates from Peking University were able to have high positions and good wages in many renowned business companies. In conclusion, while the reason for learning history is understandable, I think science and technology are essential for our professional development.