Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While a certain section of the society believes that commercials influence the buying decisions of consumers, others argue that public interest in promotions have declined because ads are everywhere. Although the reliability of infomercials is questionable, I still believe that advertisement encourages customers to purchase the recommended / suggested products or services. On the one hand, advertisements create awareness about the products by shouting out their features to potential consumers clients. In this era of globalization, when a huge variety of products are available, people become confused about what to buy. In this circumstance, we usually choose the product that we see many times in any format of advertisement, and in this way, unadvertised products remain unsold. For example, a cell phone market study shows that the Nokia Android phone failed in the market because of poor promotion when some other low quality brand sold more units by simply launching more promotions. On the other hand, we are now bombarded with advertisements. While some of those are relevant, others are irrelevant to us. So, it is impractical for buyers to concentrate on each of the commercials. So, they rely on the quality and like to research before making a purchase. For example, those who buy products online are more influenced by the reviews posted by other users than the ads shown by the company. To summarize, we can state that the practice of choosing products on the basis of quality has become more popular among customers, but commercials have a vital role to play in presenting the product to potential clients. Finally, well-advertised goods attract more people and result in good sales, so promotions certainly motivate us to buy.