In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued by some people that governments of some countries should impose a high levy on fast food because their citizens are facing health problems due to heavy consumption of this food. It is not agreed that a country should imply a high tax rate on fast food items. Firstly, this essay will discuss the fact that increasing tariff cannot minimize the addiction of food levers and secondly, will discuss the adverse effect on the tax revenue of a nation. One reason why imposing a higher tax is not a good solution is that people who are addicted to eating junk food such as burger, pizza cannot enjoy other food items. As a result, they will cut the budget from their other personal expenses to meet up the increased price of fast food items because of raising a tax rate. This is illustrated by the fact in many countries a high tax rate is imposed on cigarettes but not a single person drop the bad habit of smoking because of the higher price of that item. Another point to consider is that introducing a higher tariff on fast food items may lead to lower tax payment by the employees of fast food shops. This is because to attract customer shop owners may not increase the price of the fast food items rather they may reduce the salary of the workers. As a consequence, because of having low income, those employees will pay a small amount of income tax, which will hurt a country’s tax revenue system. For instance, when the government of Bangladesh increased the tax rate of alcohol, then alcohol manufacturers lay off their employees to minimise the production cost. In conclusion, this essay does not support the idea of imposing a higher levy on fast food because it cannot change the habits of customers and it may have negative consequences on the country’s tax revenue.