facebook represents a very powerful medium of influence over large populations. There are many positive aspects of facebook. however many people feel that it is doing irreparable harm. to what extent do you agree with the statement? what do you think should be done to minimize the negative aspects of facebook

With the advancement of technology, the use of social sites is increasing drastically. It is, therefore, the vast majority of people are considering facebook the best tool which possesses several benefits. Though, other people contend that it has some harmful aspects as well. I firmly agree with the notion that its negative side could not be ignored. This essay will discuss some drawbacks of using facebook along with some possible solutions to address the problem. To begin with, privacy has become a major concern for facebook users because sometimes hackers hack their account and misuse their personal information. As a result, their facebook pictures used for blackmailing purpose in the sake of profit, which is quite ridiculous. For example, according to the news of Hindustan Times, 40% of internet thefts are done on facebook. Thus, while using facebook one should be aware of these kinds of activities. There are several steps which could be done in order to lessen the effect. Firstly, the facebook users should be authentic and in order to confirm it, facebook company should demand ID proof such as address verification of that particular person so that authenticity could be proved. Secondly, the pictures download or screenshot option from the facebook should be discarded to maintain privacy. For instance, according to a survey's result, there are 50-60% of people who have two accounts on facebook one of them is fake with different name and address. Overall, to verify the correct person, updation in the site are some practical measures which can be adopted. To conclude, it is true that people are getting addicted to social media and facebook is one of them, which have some negative consequences. I strongly favour the viewpoint as I have discussed the reasons behind it and described a few solutions which could make the facebook more reliable source.