In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Crime novels and TV crime dramas are trending these days in most of the countries mainly because one can relate to it very easily as it is based on current affairs going on in society. Second reason could be such stories keeps you curious as it is full of suspense and thriller and most importantly it always has a happy ending which gives a viewer satisfactory experience. In my opinion, it has a kind of negative impact on the minds of the viewers which I will substantiate in the following essay with relevant examples. The creators of these criminal books or TV shows mainly try to hit on the mind-set of the population, so they create scripts based on the current scenario in the world which anyone could relate convincingly. For example, Indian TV shows like Saavdhan India or CID Files presents episodes based on true events which keep the spectator on the edge till the finish. The other most important reason being, such shows always have a pleasant closure which soothes the viewer’s mind in the end. Like, Special squads is an Indian show in which the culprit is always caught and punished in the climax.  In my opinion, these producers are mean as they target the sensitive point of society just to increase their TRP whereas on the other hand, it is creating a negative impact on their mind and personality. They start to ignore the real world in which there is no fact closure always, as life is unpredictable. For instance, in yesterday’s newspaper- The Times of India, there was a story about how the servant murdered the old woman and flew away before a year and he still not caught by the police. To summarize, I will say although these novels and dramas seem fascinating to the audience, in reality, they are having a deteriorating effect on society as it creates a negative effect in mind by giving them false hopes.