In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Crime novels and TV crime dramas are trending these days in most of the countries mainly because one can relate to it very easily as it is based on current affairs going on in society. In my opinion, it has a kind of negative impact on the minds of the viewers which I will substantiate in the following essay with relevant examples. To begin with, people like the content which are relatable. The creators of the criminal books or TV shows are aware of this facts, and they design contents that are based on the current event as it helps them to connect with their target audience. For example, Indian TV shows like Saavdhan India or CID Files presents episodes based on true events which keep the spectator on the edge till the finish.  In my opinion, such concepts do more harm then good to the society. The copywriters are mean as they target the sensitive point of community to increase their net profit, consequently not giving thought towards the negative impact their concept has on the mind and personality of the community. Thus, later begins to ignore the real world and its inherent values, and start accepting the reel world which is not more than a fiction. For instance, in yesterday’s newspaper- The Times of India, there was a story about how the servant murdered the old woman and flew away before a year and he still not caught by the police. To summarize, I will say although these novels and dramas seem fascinating to the audience, in reality, they are having a deteriorating effect on society as it creates a negative effect in mind by giving them false hopes.