In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Due to the impact of globalization, consumers are able to access products worldwide in supermarkets because of the reduced trade barriers between the countries making more imports available. I consider that there are both positive and negative effects caused by this phenomenon. From the perspective of consumers, there could be the benefit of obtaining higher standards of living. Firstly, the consumers have opportunities to buy a variety of specialities produced all over the world to enrich their diary. For instance, people can purchase genuine Italian pasta, fresh tropical fruits etc imported from the original countries. Secondly, people are able to access high-quality and nutritious food products in supermarkets that they could not find in their local market originally, such as Australian lobsters and tunas. Therefore, the increased variety of food products would be beneficial to consumers. However, local businesses may be negatively affected by the entry of foreign food products into the supermarket. The imported foods may include substitutes for the products produced locally, which leads to increased competition in the market. Local businesses may have multiplicative pressure to reduce the cost of production and increase product differentiation in order to maintain their market shares. As a result, a large amount small-size firms may face close-down when enormous multinational corporations such as Nestle or Coca-Cola attract too much demand in the local area, which may lead to an increased level of unemployment in these countries furthermore. Overall, consumers are taking advantage of accessing to wider range of food products to decorate their lives and live happier, while the local enterprises may suffer from competing with the foreign food producers to sustain their revenue.