With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people say this as a good step forward while others do not . What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In the modern era, many people tend to read books as softcopies from their technological appliances such as mobile phones, laptops and tablets. Due to this, the fact that the number of users who read using books has vastly decreased.There is an ongoing debate among people, one group favouring this as a beneficial influence while the others oppose this perspective. Although spending too much of reading on screen has reflected many detrimental effects on the eyes, yet using e-books is user friendly and convenient. Firstly, with the modernisation of the world, the way people think has also dramatically changed by promoting them to have everything close to themselves and making out their basic needs to be portable. Specifically, people often do not like to carry a lofty weighing book in their bags everywhere they go. For example, been a medical student, I usually had to refer many books to prepare for my classes. Despite carrying a huge pile of books to classes, I usually take my tablet which contains all the PDF version. As a result, the usage of electronic versions has been a devasting help for human beings by making their school or office bag weigh light. On the other hand, over-reliance on electronic devices for reading puts a strain on the reader's eyes.Obviously, emitting the blue light from screens,which causes negative ramification on the eye leads to long-sightedness upon prolonged exposure. In my first year at medical college for instances, when I was diagnosed as having an eyesight problem and the ophthalmologist prescribed me the relevant pair of glasses with the advice to limit the use of electronic devices to read. Therefore, the severe effect on vast exposure towards the blue rays emits from the gadgets is hazardous to our health. To conclude, globalisation has lead to a numerous number of people,who are using soft copies rather than hard copies as ebooks make people feel very convenience. Nevertheless, the biggest drawback from this advancement is it affecting medical condition which can deteriorate the quality of human life.