The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

It is thought by some people that English, which is now the most widely spoken sound in the earth, may one day predominate over all other languages and result in their eventual disappearance. Having one dialect would certainly aid understanding and economic growth but there will also be some drawbacks. One evident benefit to having one global speech is that it would enable greater understanding between countries. In other words, if everyone spoke one accent, there would be complete understanding between not only countries but all people throughout the nature which would promote learning, the flow of information and ideas. Another reason that one sound would be advantageous is that it would help economic growth. With all people speaking the same prose, there would be fewer barriers and therefore trade would flourish between countries, resulting in a healthier earth economy. On the other hand, there are obviously detrimental to having only one global sound. Firstly, it would mean that all other languages would eventually disappear, and along with them, their cultures. The diversity of cultures is one of the joys this earth has to offer. Each culture is unique with its own way of life and own perspectives of the earth which would all be lost if there were only one terminology. Secondly, it would result in the collapse of tourism because there would be no reason to travel for pleasure and interest if all countries had the same terminology and similar cultures. This would devastate many countries economically that rely on tourism as a source of income. In conclusion, while there are plus points to having one global speech, too much would be lost as a result. Maintaining local languages and cultures should be prioritised to ensure a rich earth heritage for future generations.