In some countries, people follow the latest fashion and hairstyles. In your opinion, what is influencing this? Is it a good or a bad thing?

It is becoming increasingly widespread that people around the globe are keeping up with the latest fashion trends. This may be put down to the influence of the media, which can be a negative development only if people succumb to it without using their common sense. ⠀ Being constantly exposed to all sorts of media content showing the glossy world of fashion, some people take to the idea that it is chasing the latest trends that ensures social status and recognition. Fashion shows broadcasted from different countries and glamorous photos incessantly posted on social media by those willing to flaunt their wealth inculcate in people’s minds what is in trend and how to be stylish, making many desperate to fit in this elite group. That is why ordinary people are willing to even lose their authenticity in an attempt to change their appearance to become more respected or be considered more successful than they actually are, imitating what they see on the catwalk or trying to look like media role models with their posh and extravagant outfits and hairdos. This impact is neither negative nor positive in itself since it is a person’s attitude that plays a crucial part. If people follow fashion crazes set by the media, but go for the clothes and hairstyles that flatter their body type this may only diversify their everyday looks. Yet, those who blindly chase all the fads may become just mere slaves to fashion, wearing a style that does not complement their appearance. For example, just because social media is packed with photos of celebrities rocking a pair of skinny jeans, it does not mean that everyone should follow suit. While they look great on some women, sadly, they will only accentuate a curvier body type, showing all the flaws and hugging all the curves the wrong way. To sum up, the desire to be stylish stems from the impact of today’s media-saturated culture. When adequately perceived, it may contribute to fashion diversity; however, it may turn people into fashion victims if not approached with critical thinking.