Some people believe that a gap year between school and university is a good idea, while others disagree strongly. Consider both sides of this debate and present your own opinion. You should give reasons for your answer, and include ideas and examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

In many societies gap years are common for young people who finished school and will engage in tertiary courses. While many argue that a break between educational engagements is valuable for teenagers to reflect on future careers and work, some believe this is a waste of time. In my view, take some time off before going to university can be beneficial for those who need a break from study pressures and to figure out what they want to do for their lives. There are some people who believes that taking a break between school and university will negatively affect the person’s future because they should focus on their careers early in order to progress in life. As an example, some of the most successful business people, such as CEOs and high level managers, never stopped studying after finishing school and have a collection of diplomas in Masters and Doctorates. However, in my opinion, studying continually does not work for every individual, especially when they are young. Finishing school can be extremely challenging for many adolescents causing high stress as assessments and responsibilities become more rigid. Thus, having a break after completing the secondary can be not only favourable for their mental health, but also a great opportunity to reflect on future careers. Moreover, it is possible for the young to find a job during this time, which will support them to pay education fees and strength their resumes. This happened a lot to millennials, for example, who are now changing careers after figuring out what they studied at university is not what they what they wanted for their lives. Hence I believe gap years can be valuable for those who choose to take a break after completing school. In conclusion, although some disagree that gap years can be positive, I believe that it can be a great pause and opportunity to reflect on their upcoming career and acquire work experience.