In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

This past decade has witnessed a dramatic change in shopping methods of the general public. Majority of minor shopping outlets have been shuttering down due to the consumer interest in purchasing from major sales outlets. In my opinion, this is a positive transformation, because masses can purchase all types of products under one roof and these shopping malls provide a huge discount on desired products. Firstly, the populace can acquire all essential items in a single visit from the mega shopping centre. In other words, products such as groceries, clothes, shoes and daily used items can be purchased from a single store. However, people had to visit a number of small shops for the procurement of necessary goods. As a result, the public may save sufficient time and invest it in some fruitful activities. For example, the latest survey by "The Times of India" reveals that 50% of the populace prefers to visit mammoth sales outlet than minor sales hub to save huge time. Secondly, major shopping complexes facilitate the provision of adequate discounts on items. As an outcome, the populace may save handsome money and use it for shopping of other products. For instance, large purchasing hub such as Big basket and Reliance mart handover 10% to 20% discount on MRP. Therefore, maximum consumers have left purchasing from small outlets and begin shopping from large shopping mall's, which is accountable for closing down of small sale hubs. In conclusion, it has been perceived that minor sale outlets are closing owing to the masses procurement from major shopping centre's. This is primarily due to the availability of all variety of items at one destination and attractive discounts on shopping items. Hence, this is a positive development.