“Prevention is better than cure” Out of a country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and prevention measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Since the dawn of civilization, outbreaks have occurred in human societies inevitably. Regarding tackling this issue, there has been a debate on whether is effective to invest in treating people or applying for disease prevention programmes. I subscribe to the view that a larger portion of the health budget must be spent on prevention methods. To commence with, public awareness as an essential approach in the prevention context has been paving the road to disease elimination. To clarify, communicable diseases spread to vulnerable individuals via different routes. In this case, informing the community about the possible routes of transmission is vital to control the incidence rate. Spending a portion of the budget on cutting down the possible routes of disease spread may lead to protecting a community, while spending on treating approaches may lead to a cure of just one or two cases. Take Influenza as an example, coughing and sneezing would cause flu to a susceptible, therefore using masks and other prevention methods profitably reduces the incidence rate of flu. On the other hand, in an urgent circumstance such as the pandemic, the need for novel drugs me be challenging. Due to the emergence of an unknown infectious or re-emergence of epidemics, scientists are faced with an ambiguous situation. Furthermore, tremendous investment in developing novel drugs to find an efficient treatment may be indispensable. For instance, in the COVID-19 pandemic, the governments initially invested a huge portion of the health budget to reveal a novel cure to combat the pandemic. Despite the fact that the need to investigate an efficient vaccine to alleviate COVID-19 was necessary, being equipped with media with healthy instructions was more vital. To conclude, in my opinion, spending a huge portion of a health budget on prevention sectors can be an open sesame to eliminate disease prevalence in society, also it is a profitable investment.