These days more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Although historically a mother is a person who takes care of children in many countries throughout the world, nowadays a new tendency is becoming popular when children are staying home with their fathers. The reason for that could be an amount of money that spouses earn and if a woman is a breadwinner, it is obvious that she ought to continue her job and a man should look after children. It is a positive move because in this way a family gains higher incomes in order to grow their offspring. The major argumentation why it is a man who is staying home is that today not only men can apply for a highly paid job. It means, more and more high-level positions are taken by women and if a wife’s salary is considerably more than husband’s one, it is a logical decision for men to be home growing children. For example, in Ukraine, a number of women who bring home the beacon is increasing each year and far more fathers have been seen at playgrounds throughout the country. This is a beneficial tendency because it allows families not to noticeably lower their earnings and mitigate risk to live pay cheque to pay cheque. Otherwise, if people were led by traditions and only women could be with babies, it would be tough to feed all members of the family and maintain an appropriate quality of life. For instance, there are many men in Ukraine who are unable to cover all expenses of their relatives in the case when they are only a person who works and brings money. Consequently, if they cannot stay home instead of their wives, who have higher wages, the overall level of life will aggravate. In conclusion, despite customs there are more situations when it is only by staying home and bringing up children that men can support their spouses and children. Sometimes it is only the option to have lucrative sharing of responsibilities in families.