In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a home with friends. Is this a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include relevant examples.

In the modern age, people are adopting new trends and lifestyles. One of which is, children want to be independent and hence, they choose to stay separate from their parents once they have completed secondary schooling. Though such steps have some demerits, it also has many merits. Nowadays, children want to grow up faster and in-process take some harsh steps like leaving their parents alone for their own good. For example, in the case of a single parent, it becomes difficult to live without the child who was the only support for them. In such a situation not only the family suffers emotionally but also, the younger one bares the consequences of staying alone. Moreover, they lack the support of the elderly and experienced person. On the other hand, one of the benefits of staying apart from their home is, youngsters, learn to become self-dependent. To illustrate, when staying alone children are forced to cook their own meal and clean their places without the help of either mother or father. Such circumstances develop the person to be a better human. Furthermore, they also get the freedom to explore what is there for them on the platter. In other words, they get to travel across cities and choose what they feel is best for them from work, education or sports field as their career. To exemplify, if children wish to opt to study further, they can travel and stay in a city where better universities are available. This way they are not confined and get better exposure. To conclude, choosing to stay away from parents after completing school, have more benefits on the children than harm. However, they should also consider their parents and not act self-fish.