Some people think books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extent do you agree?

Book has been a great source of knowledge and entertainment for yonks. However, with an advance of technology and uprising of internet and visual media, it is losing its original place from our day to day life. I agree with this notion that the printed books are in threat in this digital era. The internet has influenced every aspect of our life, so do the way of accessing any material. Currently, all the information is at our fingertips with the use of smartphones and computers. For instance, if we seek for a meaning of any word, instead of looking into a dictionary, we search in google which gives exact meaning in less than second. Moreover, the internet is an ocean of knowledge, so in the case of getting knowledge, we now normally look into online sources because that's cost-effective. In contrast, buying actual books can be expensive for the same purpose. In addition to the aforementioned points, rapid growth in visual media has influenced our entertaining needs. For instance, after a tiring day, current generation people usually start television to watch different dramas or series. They no longer read books to relax mostly. Besides this, the options for accessing entertainment material have multiplied with online streaming functionality. Hence, the demand for book as a source of entertainment has reduced considerably. In conclusion, I would say that though books were considered as best friends earlier for information and entertainment, in today's world, the definition is changing due to alternate sources. Consequently, the number of people who read books have significantly reduced.