There is little control over the design and construction of new homes and office buildings, and people can build in whatever style they like. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that limited regulation allows people to design their houses and office buildings freely on its forms. Although some benefits of this can be seen, I am the opinion of that drawbacks exceed. One of the considerable benefits of having slight restrictions on construction of houses and office buildings is that it can be a famous landmark. Since fewer restrictions make it possible to create a unique appearance by adding colours and unfamiliar shapes, the uniqueness gathers people’s attention and will be well-known. Taking Casa Milà as an example, the originality of the house fascinate people all over the world and registered as a World Heritage Site. Designing houses and office buildings freely leads to making new famous architectures so loose regulation on its forms seems to be advantages. Nevertheless, I believe that drawbacks of limited regulation on houses and buildings are greater than its benefits because it can trigger spoiling the beauty of a town scenery. Without strict restrictions on architecture styles, it is hard to protect the beautiful view of a city, which usually involves consistency in appearance. For example, Kyoto sets a limit on architecture, such as colours and heights. Due to the strict restrictions, new houses and office buildings match the traditional townscape. Lax regulation possibly damages the beautiful scenery of a city that comes from the uniformity of buildings; therefore, the negativity of less regulation on design and construction new architecture prevails. To sum up, slight regulation on architecture allows freely building and can be beneficial. However, I believe that drawbacks are superior to their benefits because loose restrictions on building styles hinder the unified beauty of a city.