Should governments make decisions about people's lifestyle, or should people make their own decisions?

People have contrasting views on whether the citizens should be entitled to choose their ways of living freely or the ministry should take this responsibility.In my personal view, I believe that people enjoy the right to live their lives based on individual willingness as long as it does not create problems for others and society as a whole. On the one hand, it is generally accepted that each person should be encouraged to pursue their own styles of living according to different goals and interests. For instance,some regard success as material abundance, hence they may bury themselves into hard work so as to build more wealth and own more possessions.While others emphasize more on inner peace,they probably opt to live in the countryside to get rid of stress and noise in metropolitan areas.No judgement should be made to these cases which are derived from a variety of understanding of life. On the other hand, the state authority,like the spine of a country,is obliged to safeguard social security and guarantee public benefits, otherwise,we can hardly imagine how what the world will look like. I once saw the news that a group of adults was arrested by police because of selling heroin samples. Such behaviours have heavily threatened others' health which should be completely banned by the nation.Another example in terms of smoking has also proved to be an effective practice. Through prohibiting people from smoking in public places consisting of restaurants,airports,working places, the number of smokers decreased obviously. In a nutshell, it is worthwhile that governments take some measures against rule-breaking offence when people are allowed to choose individual lifestyles.