Online shopping has various advantages for consumers but may also have disadvantages, such as the loss of some individual privacy. Do the advantages of online shopping for the consumer outweigh the disadvantages?

In today’s fast-paced world, online shopping has become popular among people since it’s convenient and time-effective in nature. However, some argue that distance shopping offers less privacy to someone. It is necessary to present every tiny detail of individuals' requirements to the shopping platforms. From my perspective, I believe the benefits of online shopping do not outweigh the drawbacks associated with it, according to the reasons described below. On one hand, it is accepted that online shopping is a comfortable method, as goods are transported to everyone’s doorstep, reducing the effort of commuting. Furthermore, any equipment, clothes or even food can be accessible, that can not be found around the nearest town. For example, Temu and AliExpress have been popular for several years in Sri Lanka, as they offer the lowest prices for exporting goods. Apart from that, online grocery shopping apps like Uber have been growing dramatically among users because of frequent offers and time effectiveness. On the other hand, although it seems like online shopping is limited to benefits, there can be disadvantages associated with it. Accordingly, the quality cannot be checked before it is in person. Therefore, in those cases, people have to return with dissatisfaction, but return is only allowed under some conditions. Another concern is that it is essential to give the customer’s private details, such as location, ID number or phone number, for delivery. Furthermore, even Uber drivers who transport food can purposely poison the cuisine to accomplish their revenge on someone. Undoubtedly, it is awkward and uncomfortable if someone needs to return their clothes, such as underwear, purchased from online platforms. In conclusion, although people are persuaded to use online platforms nowadays for reasonable reasons, there can be drawbacks, such as threats to life. I believe, according to the causes given above, it is obvious that the disadvantages outweigh the benefits.