All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reason for this rise in obesity, How could it be tickled?

Obesity has become a global crisis increasingly, affecting all the age groups. The biggest culprit for this problem is the overconsumption of unhealthy diet, and I think it can be settled by the government increasing taxes for food and beverages. Nowadays, people are suffering from the overweight issue in increasing order, and the reason for this is including unhealthy diets such as fast food and soda drinks in their daily routine. This type of meal contains fat, cholesterol and other toxic content which produces undesirable fat in the body resulting in obesity-related diseases. Moreover, today both the parents are busy in their hectic work schedule, and they end up feeding junk food to their children and themselves to save their time which also affects kids. For example, in the last decade, The United States has reported the highest number of obesity cases in the world due to their local cuisines like burgers, pizza and cold drinks. To curb this issue, I believe the government should raise the applied taxes on these products. Consequently, this will not only save people's money but will also encourage them to have home-cooked food which will eventually result in a healthy lifestyle. For instance, Korea raised food taxes by 30% in 2017 to experiment with this idea, and the number of cases fell by 20% compared to the previous year. This result shows that people can't afford high priced food frequently. To conclude, Increasing weight in children and adults has become a problem worldwide due to intake of street food regularly, and the government can fix this phenomenon by raising the percentage of taxes applied to the food industry.