Nowadays, an increasing number of people with health problems are using alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their normal doctor. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, there is an upward trend in the number of individuals who have been facing health issues and opting for alternatives to visiting doctors. From my viewpoint, this phenomenon is largely negative. On the one hand, there might be a few benefits of alternative medicines and treatments, one of which is alleviating doctors’ workload. The public hospital, which is a prime example, usually has an over-expected number of patients. This correspondingly translates to not only the overload for doctors but also long waiting queues and mediocre services for patients. Nevertheless, if a large number of individuals use different treatments instead, the aforementioned problem inherently seems to be addressed. On the other hand, the development is bound to pose some potential threats to its followers. First and foremost, when they use medicine themselves, some side effects of medicines or therapies such as allergies may be overlooked. Hence, people should go to the hospital or clinic establishments where there are sufficient facilities to check and analyze their health status elaborately, thereby obtaining the most suitable remedies. Second, It is seemingly that some private companies which serve therapeutics can counsel their customers to take unnecessary pills or extra services in an attempt to gain as much profit as possible. For instance, people with skin problems are likely to be advised to purchase redundant cosmetics when they go to the spa. Ultimately, the discussed trend is primarily risky. In conclusion, although the prevalence of using alternative treatments instead of visiting the clinic might help to reduce the excess workload of doctors, I mainly advocate that it is negative phenomenon due to its demerits in terms of health safety and fees.