some people beleive government should spend money on saving languages of few speakers

A certain number of individuals believe that the government should invest in preserving the language that is spoken by a small number of people from being entirely extinct. While it is an action that a lot may agree with, I, on the other hand, strongly disagree with this because I think that there are larger issues the authorities should be concerned about. Firstly, the idea of aiding in the expansion of a language that has a scarce amount of users is unimportant. Instead, the law should focus on wider problems that affect a larger proportion of the population such as a soar in unemployment or a lack of a strong educational system. For instance, a worker with no job may rely on unemployment benefits from the government to sustain their needs. As the state puts more funding into this policy aiding a dying tongue, their unemployed citizens will receive fewer payments (due to a growth in opportunity cost) they gain a handful of opportunities to consume goods such as food or school fees for their children. However, for citizens of the nation to learn more about their country’s past, the study of languages that are almost non-existent may be essential. Languages have always been a powerful tool to grasp a better understanding of a civilisation’s past as they are written on everything ranging from artefacts to monuments. For example, Ancient Egyptians are famously known to engrave their speeches onto the tombs of their Pharaohs. Had the governments of Egypt and other foreign investors not put monetary endeavours to master these dialects it would have been impossible for them to uncover the secrets of their Pharaoh's burial sites. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the government should not put financial efforts in order to sustain a language rarely spoken. Although some people may argue that this step is required in order to better understand the past of their culture, we are faced with more significant costs that the state focuses more on.