Some people think that it is better to educate boys and girls in separate schools. Others, however, believe that boys and girls benefit more from attending mixed schools. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today’s society, the way of educating children is becoming a hotly debated topic between parents and educators. While some argue that the best choice is to have unisex schools, as children can have a directional leaning, others, including myself, believe that children hugely benefit from an environment composed of boys and girls, in order to learn about tolerance and motivate other areas of knowledge. On one hand, it has been in our history the fact that women and men have different abilities. Due to this fact, many argue that they should be taught differently. Considering schools with just one gender, children are directed to learn those subjects in which they have a low performance when compared with the opposite gender. For example, many pieces of research have pointed out the deficit on women to deal with spatial vision and some areas of technology. Therefore, their learning needs to be focused on these issues. On the other hand, the world of two decades ago is not the same anymore, where it was so simple to define boys and girls. These constant changes should be taken into account in the learning process. Because of that, children will be taught to accept diversity and tolerate what is different. In addition, they might increase their interest in other subjects, as they will be taught equally. As an example, the recent discoveries about the black hole, firstly mentioned by Einstein, were officially found by a woman. Considering this, if women had been taught since the beginning of times, we would have seen more discovers from them. To summarize, even though the genders of our society are increasing, there are those who believe that schools should teach boys and girls separately. However, I strongly believe that equality education teaches not only knowledge but also other interpersonal subjects, which are extremely important to our society.