Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

It is considered by many that the loss of particular species of plants and animals is a major environmental issue at present, while others think that there are even more critical ones do exist. I am of the opinion that although the extinction of specific flora and fauna is deeply disrupting the ecosystem, the primary concerns are global warming and ozone layer depletion. On the one hand, many think that endangerment of some kind of flora and fauna is a big threat to mother nature as it can result in ecological imbalance. The Tasmanian Wolf, for instance, when it vanished, it caused a disproportion in the natural cycle; this also resulted in Australia to lose one of their native animals. Their extermination also became a reason for the increase in insects and other predators around the region. Therefore, the disappearance of such wildlife does embark on some damage to the earth. On the other hand, in the later view, some think that the earth is being damaged to a greater extent because of other environmental issues. To begin with, urbanization of developed and developing countries emits harmful gases in the atmosphere. For example, Road traffic emissions from petrol or diesel engines increase carbon monoxide and nitrogen oxides which thereby leads to global warming and also plays a brutal role in ozone layer depletion. One of the major consequences of this is glacier melting in Antarctica which further leads to a rise in sea level. Hence, small islands such as the Maldives is at higher risk to be completely submerged. In conclusion, Although nature is being damaged due to the loss of some species of wildlife, I believe that other mentioned atmospheric issues are affecting by greater means and these are the primary concerns for humanity at present.