Some people think that it s better to impose higher taxes on unhealthy food, while other disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the past few decades, there has been an increase in the consumption of junk food by people and the main cause of it is the widespread availability and cheap in cost. As a result, there is a section of people who feel that these foods should be taxed more so that people start avoiding it. On the contrary, others who do not agree with this say it should be left on an individual to decide what to eat and whatnot. In this essay, I will discuss both the views and will provide my opinion in the conclusion. Firstly, foods which are not good for health are the ones which are widely available in the market and this is because people feel they are quite delicious and low in rate as well. For instance, in India, there are various types of street snack restaurants and the most famous are who serve Chinese fast food. People prefer eating noodles and fried rice there but according to the latest food survey results it was found people who consume them were prone to get diseases like diabetes and thyroid. Hence, if the tax on these foods increases it automatically increases the price as well and this could bring down the demand. Moreover, helps in keeping society healthy. Therefore, people with this view are demanding the government to increase taxes on these foods. Secondly, people who object increase in tax rates on unhealthy snack say this will bring down the economy of the country as the demand for products decreases which inturn forces owners to close the restaurants leaving many unemployed. For example, many poor people are the ones who own these restaurants and decisions like higher tax rate may ruin their life as people will instead purchase healthy foods at the same amount. Thus, due to such negative outcomes, many people object to the high tax rate. To conclude, both the views have a strong case but in my opinion, it will be a bigger loss to both people and economy if junk foods are taxed more. Hence, instead of severe steps like changing tax per cent, it's better people should be educated as this will bring a change in eating habits of people and restaurant owners might also be able to adapt to this change.