These days, the increasing number of overweight children in cities is a huge problem. What are its causes and its effects on the country?

Nowadays, the majority children living in urban areas are experiencing the issue of being overweight. Plethora of causes and effects behind being unhealthy will be discussed in the following paragraphs. Along with other diseases, obesity has steadily increased at a faster rate and the primary reason for increased weight is today’s lifestyle, in developed cities where everything can be found next door has made it easier for children to get exposed to technology and have easy access to utilize them. The intense usage of gadgets like laptops and mobile phones has limited movement both mentally and physically. Screen time has increased up to 50%, which indicates addiction and less physical activity. According to the recent health update by the experts, this trend will adversely affect the overall growth of a child and will hinder performing significant tasks like problem-solving, learning and analysing. The second major reason is the wrong food habits. Food plays an integral part in the human body, and if one opts for a poor-quality diet, it is certain that numerous health problems will prevail. To exemplify, all kinds of junk foods, like burgers, rolls and pizza are all cooked with low-quality oil so these are hazardous and such food contains a high level of fat, calories and excessive sodium, which can further lead to undermining health by chances of getting a heart attack, increased blood pressure, including external struggles like procrastination and showing signs of disinterest in doing any activity. Besides, even if it’s a brief task, one would easily get tired due to low stamina. To conclude, the issue of being overweight is considerably found in many metropolitan regions. The reason behind this is poor lifestyle which involves excessive usage of technology and intaking unhealthy food. Sadly, this fashion is becoming a usual norm leaving the adolescent with negative effects both physically and mentally and further weakening their abilities.