Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down; however, others believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is currently easy to find a zoo as there are many of them around the world. However, it is doubtable if they treat animals well or just want to make money out of it. As it is hard to be known, should a place be trusted to protect wildlife in danger or not? Let's analyse both points and I'll give my point of view to conclude it. On the one hand, it is possible to find sanctuaries which usually claim to have the duty of caring for injured pets and afterwards place them back to nature. Although, when some animal suffers an injury as being hit by a car for example, and not completely recover from this, it consequently cannot survive if left into the jungle. Moreover, take the risk of getting into another accident. On the other hand, there is a range of zoos with a business purpose only. Sadly, in this case, animals are just a kind of attraction. Allegations of mistreatment, lack of hygiene and bad living conditions are unfortunately common about these venues. They pretend to treat creatures fairly when public come to visit, but that might be totally the opposite while no one is seeing this. To sum up, briefly, the pros and cons are easily found in keeping those places opened. Even though knowing some of them just have the intention to help, there are still others taking advantage of it through bad treatment, and that is the reason why I truly believe the government should shut zoos down and take full responsibility of watching and caring for wildlife.