Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

In the contemporary world, the controversy surrounding the animal experimentation has been a prominent topic. It is commonly believed that using animals for experimenting is morally wrong, notwithstanding its crucial role in developing scientific discoveries. From my perspective, while I am in favour of the view that animal testing is not justified, I would have to support it for its contribution to making medical breakthroughs. To begin with, the contribution of animal experimentation to the advancement of medical research is indispensable. In fact, it is of paramount importance to humans in terms of saving people from fatal diseases. To be more precise, Owing to the fact that the anatomy and physiology of certain creatures are similar to human beings, experimentations performed on animals are accurate. For instance, guinea pigs and rabbits are used all around the world in laboratories to invent medicines, observe the effects of medications on living bodies, do dose calculations, and perform surgical procedures to name a few. As a result, scientists prefer using animals to ensure the safety of mankind. On the other hand, there are some alternatives to animal experimentation which can save innocent animals from suffering such as in vitro testing, computer modelling and human clinical trials. Vitro testing involves conducting experiments on tissues and cells in a laboratory setting, while computer modelling uses computer simulations to predict the effects of drugs or other substances. Moreover, testing treatments on human volunteers is called human clinical trials. However, these alternatives are not always sufficient or effective in replicating the complex interactions that occur in human living organisms. In conclusion, despite some alternatives, animal experimentation remains a crucial tool for scientific research, but it is important to ensure that it is conducted ethically and with minimal harm to the animal involved.