In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

As a result of the increase in population, many people need a house or an apartment to live in. Especially in Korea, Most Korean think owning a home is an important goal in their life rather than renting. In my opinion, this phenomenon is a positive thing. In Korea, there is a specific way to rent a house. Normally they pay huge amount of money as a deposit to the owner of the house, and they make a 2 years contract. Then, they can live for 2 years without a monthly rent fee. In this case, the fact that they don’t need to worry about the rent fee every month is pretty good news. However, the thing is, they have to choose whether to extend the contract or move to another place after 2 years. Mostly, the owners of the house or the apartment want to increase the deposit, so if you don’t have enough money, there is no way to extend the contract even if you have loved that place. Because of this situation, the price of the house or the apartment gets expensive every year, and a lot more people would not be able to buy their own place. In addition, If the price of the house is getting higher than now, only rich people can buy the apartment and it could bring a phenomenon in which housing prices are becoming more and more expensive In conclusion, if many people buy their place, the people who want to rent their place would be decreased and this can bring the decrease of rent deposit. This should help the people who just started to work or the people who have to move to another city.