Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation of committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on punishment. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

While some people argue that the punishments for each offence must be fixed, others believe that the scenario under which that particular crime is committed should be considered as well. In my opinion, the motive and the situation at that very moment must be taken into consideration before deciding the penalty. First of all, it is commonly thought that each offence should have a specific punishment to set a threatening outcome of violating the law. For instance, a person would never do a traffic violation after knowing the huge fine on it, similar situation falls for robbery, murder and other crimes. Therefore, this sense of fear might have a positive impact on reducing crime rates. Thus, fixed punishments are imperative to prevail in a sense of fear among culprits. On the other hand, it is often said that knowing the situation and the reason behind a certain offence also worth considering before imposing the law. Which means that if an individual made a mistake due to a valid reason, then some mercy must be shown towards him. For example, if a person has violated a red signal to rush towards a hospital in case of emergency, then some kind of lenience could be offered. Moreover, if an immature person, either because of a mental condition or an age factor, has done an offence then he must be treated in a different way. Hence, the circumstances and the situation definitely matters in decision making. To conclude, its certainly true that a committer of a crime must be penalized in accordance to the nature of the crime committed; however, certain factors such as mental condition or maturity level coupled with the reason for committing it must be considered as well. I personally believe that punishments must be according to the severity of the crime, nevertheless, a few factors such as situations and circumstances behind it should be considered as well.