In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone (cellphone) apps is becoming increasing common. Does this development have more advantages or disadvantages?

Advances in technology have led humanity to a new approach regards online payment; therefore, nowadays is extremely common to use mobile phones to pay for services and products. In my opinion, those changes have more benefits than drawbacks because it allows people to carry less cash in their pockets and facilitate financial control in companies. Firstly, it is important to say that when advances in technology come with the evolution of security systems, the probability of pushing people to use technological solutions increases. Using mobile phones to pay for something could be very convenient not only because it reduces the necessity of carrying cash, but also because, nowadays, a smartphone is a gadget that people do not forget at home. For example, to support the fact that digital and online payment is becoming a trend, a survey conducted in São Paulo, Brazil, has shown that people prefer to use digital payment solutions rather than cash, because they feel safer without the necessity of using cash to complete their transactions. Secondly, the usage of online solutions for payment such as digital applications could help companies to organize their financial reports; hence, not only time could be saved but also the necessity of using parallel sheets or tables would be diminished. For instance, in Brazil, it is extremely common to find companies which have workers who spend weeks organizing and producing financial and income reports. To conclude, although the adoption of mobile phones applications to pay for services or products could have its drawbacks, in my opinion, the advantages surpass the disadvantages. That kind of payment solution could not only reduce the necessity of carrying cash but also could help companies to control their finances easily.