Some people think that wild animals should not be kept in zoos. Others believe that there are good reasons for having zoos. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There appear to be differing views on whether zoos are appropriate and acceptable places for wild animals. On the one hand,people argue that keeping animals in zoos is inhuman, while on the other hand,a group of people finds many advantages in having zoos. It is self-evident that a zoo is not a suitable place for all wild animals. It depends very much on the sizes of the animals whether they should be kept in cages. Additionally, other conditions such as temperature or surroundings are also important. For example, a polar bear prefers low temperatures while a zebra rather enjoys hot weather. Moreover, some animals like lions need a very large area to move around in. Therefore, there is a need for very varied conditions although it is very hard to offer that. And last but not least, being exposed to a large number of people is not good for the mental health and well-being of animals. It cannot be denied that zoos have a lot of advantages as well. To begin with, a zoo is a perfect place for children to learn about wildlife and nature. Therefore, zoos are important for educational purposes. In addition to that, universities and researchers are usually in close cooperation with zoos in order to save endangered species. Furthermore, keeping wild animals in zoos is also an option to save animals that are threatened by illegal hunters or, for instance, by deforestation. Personally, I think that there is a substance in both views. However, all things considered, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Although I agree that there are some negative aspects such as inhuman conditions, more positive aspects can be found. Therefore, things like saving animals from illegal hunters and educating our children are the main arguments why we all should be in favour of having zoos.