Many social media accounts are fake. What problems does this cause? What solutions can you suggest?

The dependence on social media is increasing day by day in this modern era. This brings the problem of impersonation of a person on social media, which can lead to some major issues such as misguidance of online followers; however, these issues can be easily tackled by implementing some basic security features on the platform and by providing alertness towards this issue. To begin with, encountering a fake account is quite common when using social media platforms. These fake accounts can cause confusion among audiences of an account as they will not have a clear vision of the real account. What it means is that some fake accounts are created with the intention of scamming people in the name of some famous celebrity. To explicate it, Punjab Police Cyber Crime Branch, recently, issued a notice, in which they stated that most social media accounts have more than 2 fake accounts, which sometimes leads to scamming of followers of the real account holder. Despite being such a serious issue, it has solutions that are quite simple. The first and foremost solution is to add some validation in account creating process; validation can be done by having some physical documental proofs such as a national id card, driving license and many more. Moreover, it can also be done by AI which can recognize the face while creating an account and check wheater the person has an account already or not. For example, Facebook has AI that can recognize similar faces and make a list of accounts that can potentially be fake accounts, then it asks the account owners to verify themselves by providing some documental proof or by having a video chat with their agent. Furthermore, Social media platforms can also run consciousness campaigns to spread alertness of false accounts and the dangers of these accounts. To Conclude, The increasing trend of creating fake accounts is not very beneficial for end users and it creates a lot of hurdles for users in identifying the reality. But, These problems can be easily solved with improved security and more awareness.