The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The traffic congestion is increasing at an alarming rate. It is often thought that the best way to minimise the issue is by offering online education, work from home and online shopping. In my opinion, I think this can reduce the traffic flow to an extent, but this can have some repercussions as well. When implementing certain methods to control the number of vehicles on the road, this can improve cities' road- transport system. In other words, when commuters sit at home rather than going outside for their daily activities, the peak hour rush can be easily eliminated. For example, school children, staffs and shoppers are the main categories who flock into the city for their requirement. Therefore, limiting their movement can have a positive effect on reducing transports on the road. However, despite the above-mentioned benefits, this system has so many drawbacks as well. Firstly, many companies are hugely dependent on the passengers, for example, motor-vehicle department, supermarkets and educational institutions. This means if fewer people go outside, these firms are dangerously affected since they could not find adequate customers to sell their products. Slowly and gradually, even, the government sectors also find the side-effects of this. In conclusion, there are many people think that doing various activities at home is a feasible measure that to eliminate the road- traffic congestions in cities, I firmly consider that this option has a few merits when compared with its negative aspects. It is highly recommended that the authority should find a permanent solution to this.