In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a fact, that in the modern world now the most useful information source is the Internet, rather than books, as it was years before. In my opinion, this is a positive influence, as it has the obvious more benefits than drawbacks. The disadvantage of this trend is that the sources of the knowledge in the Internet are not always verified, as there are many publishers who act for their own purposes. By mentioning this, I mean that some of the users write the information about the product or service in order to promote their business, thus, they write the thing they want readers to see. This lead to the absolutely disaster on the websites, as people do not know exactly where is the truth and how to check it. As a result, non-verified information would make to buy something, as almost all articles have to sell. For example, if to google “how to choose the right car”, the Internet will definitely show the websites of the car seller, who will promote their autos. This is a prime example of how businesses use the Internet to give the knowledge first about the product and then promote their goods. Despite the disadvantage impact on the Internet as the source of the learnings, there are obviously more essential benefits of using mostly websites for the needed information. As they give the people always up to date data and there is no need in looking for it in a library or search in encyclopedias. The world changes so fast, so the people do not have time for searching the appropriate information needed right away in the books, rather than on the Internet. For instance, Wikipedia as the main source of knowledge now contains verified information and if it is not, it is a chance to see it. That means, that it is always quick, convenient and less time consuming, which is significant for the modern people. The other thing, which is a benefit is also the ease of finding the information. If someone needs to find the exact word in the article it is just needed to press the Ctrl+F combination and in a second, the key word or a phrase will appear. For illustration, by using this option for preparing my capstone project in the college, I saved so much time and efforts rather than I was looking for the data and some business information in the books. I would therefore argue that although there are disadvantages of the looking for the knowledge on the Internet, rather than books, they are outweighed by the advantages. It eases people’s lives and save the time, as it less time consuming for searching the knowledge on the websites.