In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Nowadays, many youngsters having finished high school should make a choice whether they go for university or they take a break in studying and try to work or travel. Despite the disadvantages which ought to be taken into account, youths can learn many new opportunities during this year which will benefit them in their occupation choice. Admittedly, there are some basic drawbacks of stopping studying such as losing motivation and time. In order to succeed in academic performance, strong desire and insistence are required. This means that if students are not encouraged enough to receive higher education, the fact they take a year of an academic gap can result in their excessive relaxation and they will never go back to studying. Another negative effect might be that young people do not take advantage of this year and end up with no understanding of what they want in their life and it appears that they spend this year in a futile way. Nevertheless, youngsters can benefit from a gap year in the long run. In other words, they can learn something completely new-brand for them which may change their perspectives and assist them to opt for their occupation. Take Fill Night for example, who should have entered university and been an accountant but he had gone to Japan and it widened his opportunities. This led to his own successful business and everyone knows and admires Nike these days. In conclusion, having a year for travel or work has both advantages and disadvantages. Young people can lose their time and craving to learning and never obtain a university diploma. Concurrently, this might be their chance to identify their abilities and directions in the future.