You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While many consider muscular strength as a vital factor behind success in sports, there exists another view that mental strength is a more critical factor. Both these views have their own gravity, and so a thorough analysis is essential before framing a logical conclusion. On the one hand, those who opine that mental strength is more important than physical potentials believe in the fact that a strong mind can dominate the opposition in a game. For example, in many contact sports like wrestling and boxing, one can often see that the gigantic size has little impact in the results. They add, when a player is into the game with full of his mind, he is more likely to get an upper hand over his opposition. However, if he loses his heart and become dejected, it would affect his overall performance and can result in an unsuccessful game. On the other hand, those who think muscle strength as a significant factor in sports think that a sound body is inevitable for any type of sports. For instance, sports-persons require tremendous physical strength and stamina in games such as football, hockey or athletics. They need to develop and maintain their muscular fitness well ahead of participating in any of such sports. If they fail to have such strength, they would definitely prove to be poor performers and can easily surrender the games to their opposition. In conclusion, it is clear that sports-players need both physical and mental capabilities to prove themselves successful. However, I think the mental aspect works effectively only when the participant has an acceptable physical fitness as per the standards.