In recent years many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is undeniable that the shopping pattern of people has changed a lot in recent times because customers are moving towards the arcade and the plaza for buying essential things. In my opinion, it is a positive change as it provides numerous things along with other facilities. This essay will highlight the reasons and provide examples for the same. First and Foremost, malls are systematically designed so that customers do not face any inconvenience and save time. To be more precise, it has a parking zone, eateries, washrooms, lifts, and coffee shops under one roof. All these amenities are important and aid people enjoy their shopping without any disruption, therefore, buyers do not need to visit multiple stores to get the required items. Moreover, the disabled and elderly people can also give company to their families as the plaza, is well organized and furnished according to their needs, for instance, comfortable seats in waiting area, one can enjoy the meals with their family just like restaurants. Thus, shopping complexes provides fun and satisfaction. Moreover, centres play a prominent role in opening the doors of employment and mitigating poverty in the neighbourhood. Therefore, these centres are a source of earning and can improve the standard of living. For instance, a recent survey conducted by shopping mall found that 20% of unemployment issue has been solved by new plazas and people are working full time or part-time in these centres. Eventually, these complexes are becoming a source of income for the people. To conclude, by closing down local stores and turning towards the complexes have more benefits like more choices, comfortable, time-saving and providing jobs to the local people. Thus, by opening more shopping complexes will be beneficial to customers and to jobless people.