Children can learn effectively by watching television. Therefore they should be encouraged to watch television regularly at home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

In this tech-savvy era, technological devices could be used in order to educate the students. Likewise, some people believe that television is the best source to gain the knowledge so that children ought to learn from television at school and at home. I personally believe that the involvement of broadcast in the study is completely preposterous, despite some few educational channels which are knowledgeable. To begin with, to learn from TV could be hazardous for children in many ways. It is not a reliable source of study. While watching Television for the purpose of education, children may distract from their studies because there are several channels telecasted by the programmers which are not suitable for the learners to watch. Similarly, the prolonged sitting in front of the screen may lead to persistent health issues such as lower eyesight, obesity, stress and anxiety. Consequently, rather than benefits, it is a great loss. For example, according to one survey, the authenticity of the TV for an educational point of view is only 30%. Thus, it is a source of entertainment rather than knowledge and instead of encouraging children to watch and learn from TV, the institutions and parents should adopt the different strategies to teach the children so that they could gain profound education in real terms. Conversely, there are some TV programs which immensely providing the best proficiency and this positive aspect could not be ignored. The most renowned channel is Discovery where the concrete learning about different species of birds, mammals and insects are telecasted along with their 3D pictures. As a result, children develop their interest and learn better through visual presentations. For instances, my 5 years old nephew is quite interested in educational channels on the TV and learn more by doing. Overall, for the study of a few subjects TV could be sustainable in a long run, but for overall learning performances, it is not suitable. To conclude, people are getting influenced by the accelerating pace of modernization that's why they are preferring to allow their children to learn from mass media and also suggesting that school authorities should do the same. Though according to me, the trend of the TV for teaching and learning should be eradicated at a large extent because there are several other ways rather than TV which could be put in practice to provide the knowledge.