Modern technology, such as personal computers and the internet, have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of the time instead of going to an office every day. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

With the advancement of internet and computers, it is now possible to work from home instead of physically being present in the office. The primary advantage of this idea is people can avoid traffic while travelling to work, therefore saving precious time which they can spend with their families. Having trouble bonding with colleagues and maintaining a professional social life can be one of the disadvantages. As people start to work from home, they avoid huge traffic every day while travelling to work. Especially in large cities where traffic is enormous, it usually takes around 30-40 minutes on average to cover the distance from home to office. This time can be saved to bond with families, thus maintaining a good work - life balance. Avoiding stressful traffic can also enhance the presence of mind as one doesn't have to keep thinking about being in traffic before or after work. Working remotely can lead to trouble bonding with other office employees. When people are physically present in the office, they not only talk about their day-to-day life with their colleagues but also plan different events and trips with them. When working from home, their interaction is limited to just talking about the work, therefore, affecting their social life professionally. This could also lead to making work boring and impacting one's productivity. For example, a recent study shows that an employee who has friends in the office tends to work productively than the one who doesn't. In conclusion, while working from home on a computer comes with a benefit of having more time at hand by avoiding traffic, it also comes with a disadvantage of not bonding well with colleagues thus impacting their social life.