Some people think that outdoor activities are more beneficial for children’s development than playing computer games. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely advocated that partaking in outdoor activities is far more crucial than computer games for the young generation to be developed holistically. The writer, in light of this, is entirely convinced by this school of thought on account of the consequences deriving from computer games coupled with priceless experiences in real-life activities. Initially, it is vital to recognize countless highly serious illnesses that children suffer from when they become addicted to computer games. It must be acknowledged that should teenagers spend most of their time playing these games at earlier ages, they are likely to deal with visual problems in the future. Specifically, research conducted in the UK has revealed that more than eighty per cent of the youth whose favourite leisure activity is playing games based on computers are finding it challenging to see well compared to their peers at school who do not engage in those games. Moreover, having sat under a chair and glued their eyes to computer screens without activating their bodies or exercising over a long course of time, teenagers will become overweight, in other words, suffering from obesity that leads to future physical health disorders. Additionally, a wide range of essential skills gained from real-life activities must be considered. To clarify, many outdoor activities such as teaming sports or festivals require a large number of teenagers to get engaged, come up with a team, and cooperate together to win. This means some of their fundamental skills including collaborative and problem-solving ones will be developed significantly after that. Furthermore, by participating in outdoor activities, there will be many opportunities among these children to get involved in nature, thus obtaining more knowledge related to the environment as well as flora and fauna apart from formal academic education at school. These valuable insights, however, cannot be gained by playing computer games. In conclusion, it has been demonstrated that it is a wide range of outdoor activities, not computer games that provides children priceless knowledge and real-life skills and prevents them from suffering many physical health-related problems. It is, in addition, apparent that the more outdoor activities the young generation takes part in, the more holistically they are likely to develop.