Parents should spend more time with their children helping them with their homework. Do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that parents should give extra time to their children to help in home assignment or not. This essay agrees with the statement that as this can be beneficial for parents and their children too. Both can spend more time and understand each other in a better way. Also, this help parents understand the challenges and problem faced by their children in their day to day routine and studies. Firstly, in today’s busy life and nuclear family trends, most of the parents remain so busy with their work schedules that they hardly spare time to help their children in studies. Mostly children are dependent on their tutors and their peers' for help in the study. This leads to weak emotional bonding between parents and children. Little more attention would help to firm emotional connection and also boost confidence in children. Moreover, Parents are the first teacher of their child, so, children feel great and learn more if guided and taught by their own parents. For instance, if parents dedicate certain time daily with their child, they talk, laugh, discuss and share emotional experiences while doing home assignments. Secondly, children feel more protected and safe in presence of their parents. If they are given certain time on a daily basis, they start sharing good or bad experiences, their academic or personal problems, challenges they face in peers group or any other concern, which they generally feel reluctant to share. Furthermore, Parents attention and presence give them a sense of security and confidence to open up. For example in a recent survey conducted by child welfare society, Punjab, it is found that 75% of children are stressed with their academic and routine studies as they do not get much attention from their parents. And children, whose parents are directly involved in their studies, perform better than others. Also in a testing survey, conducted on a group of 100 students where parents started spending an hour on daily basis helped children improve their academic performance drastically. In conclusion, parents should definitely spend some extra and quality hours to improve their academic, behavioural and interpersonal skills and for their overall development. It will not only strengthen their relationship but will also change their attitude towards life and build up a better future.