It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of it ?

When the topic of choices after school education comes into view, there exists controversy. Some assert that taking a year gap is beneficial, whereas the opponents of this idea prefer to continue with their higher education. Personally, I find the advantages of the former view outweigh the disadvantages based on various reasons. A break before university education offers many benefits. One of them is to take up a job on a short-term basis. Students get an opportunity to enter the corporate world and gain knowledge on the diverse work cultures. Furthermore, employment after school education can play a substantial role in deciding the major subjects for university study. For instance, senior secondary schools in Ireland encourages their students to complete an internship before they enrol for university education. The principal objective behind this is to allow students to gather some work experience which eventually aids them in choosing an appropriate career path. Another notable advantage is adaptability. Most students face challenges in balancing their education and personal life during the university days, and a prior work experience can ease them in adapting to exacting situations. On the other hand, working at an early age could have some short-comings. Being unfamiliar with the issues in the workplaces is a huge drawback for the youngsters. It requires a considerable amount of time and patience to get adjusted to the professional life, which could put a huge strain on the learners. Handling stress, bullying, and work etiquettes can be discouraging to some students who fail to keep up, resulting in disturbances of their mental health. For example, a recent survey on the employee emotions in the cosmopolitan offices revealed that 25% of the new joiners face intimidation from their senior officers. As previously mentioned, young adults are expected to handle a variety of circumstances, failing which might lead to depression. Moreover, youngsters could get addicted to transitional monetary benefits and lose focus on their future plans. In conclusion, the essay clearly communicates that there are both advantages and disadvantages of taking a year off between schooling and university. However, in my humble opinion, students could greatly benefit from taking a break before their higher studies if they are determined to overcome the challenges it brings.