Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to incease recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extend do you think laws are nedded to make people recycle more of their waste?

Some people think that only a limited part of household waste is recycled nowadays. In order to improve the situation, they propose that the government should make recycling as a legal requirement. In my opinion, I firmly agree that laws would play a vital role in increasing recycling. Some people believe that methods like educating people and organizing more relating campaigns can raise people's awareness of recycling. They have reasons to believe that more people would take part in recycling if they are conscious of the importance of recycling. For example, a recent survey shows that more than half of the interviewees are willing to try recycling if they could get more knowledge of it. As a result, recycling is usually deemed as a volunteering action. Despite there might be many ways to make more people recycle, laws related to recycling could be more useful and effective. It is not quite easy to learn how to recycle and keep on doing it so that many people tend to be unwilling to do so. If recycling cannot be a mandatory requirement for people to comply with, the rate of recycling would be at a low level. For instance, Japan, the country has a high rate of recycling, always makes a good impression on its visitors with its neat and tidy environment. In fact, it has introduced many laws, regulations and policies related to recycling for people to obey. Therefore, more and more people would be involved in recycling if there is a legal requirement. This essay argued why laws should be introduced to increase recycling. In my view, it is a completely practical approach and the government should take more action to improve our environment.