Success in formal 'pen and paper' examinations is often seen to be a sign of intelligence. To what extent do you agree with the view that formal examinations measure intelligence?

In many countries, the formal examination is a significant assessment criterion to evaluate and assess a candidate's academic standard. Recently, this has become a gauging measure to assess intelligence. Although it is undeniable that good grades determine a student's performance, I believe it should not be the only evaluation method to measure one's ability. Many professionally successful personalities who are college dropouts would prove to be strong motivators to analyze this. To begin with, academic tests and grades do not determine a person's aptitude. For example, Bill Gates dropped out of Harvard University to start Microsoft and became a millionaire at 26. He did not sit for any formal examinations, and therefore he is not a qualified graduate. But that does not mean he is not intellectual. Like Mark Zuckerberg, Facebook CEO, many such personalities have succeeded in proving that fact to the world. Besides, it is not always true that one who has academic excellence can succeed in his or her professional career. To elaborate, we often notice high performers in our close circle end up doing nothing significant. There could be two main reasons for this: rote learning practice helps get better marks, and the other is cheating and malpractice in tests. However, such practitioners can get higher marks than fellow students, but they can never compete in the real world. Thus, it is evident that individual talent should never be measured by formal examinations alone. Instead, looking at the candidates' projects and the developed applications, thereby assessing the level of understanding of their academic work, should be the recommended approach.