The development of tourism contributed to english becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some think that this will lead to english becoming only spoken language globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world.

There is no doubt the English is the langugae used for different people from diverse cultures around the world. Now a days, this idiom is required not only for tourism. English is needed for business, scientific outcomes and other fields. English, in the next future, will be the idiom that everybody will speak, specially on internet. The following up paragraphs will explain the importance of this tongue and also the benefits and disadvantages of this issue. First, the benefits to speak just one lingo is that this will be a strong tool for human development. Everybody will understand information about diverse topics. For example: I lived a year, with a Canadian and a Japanese roomates. My Japanese roomate speaks japanese, my Canadian roomate speaks french and I speak Spanish. The tongue that we had in common was English. This is an advantage because we could share our experiences in one language. Second, a disadvantage is that the rest of the languages specially native languages, tend to dissapear. For instance: Native languages in Mexico are used just in some specific places. They are important because some languages transmit different things that in English can not. Nahuatl is a language with the capacity to express love in a very particular way. So, if this dialect will not exist anymore, humanity will not have the chance to see life in other perspective. To sum up, in my personal opinion, planet earth needs an official language now, more than ever. Why the need of one tongue? This, due to the advances in technology specially in mass media: internet. However, this does not necessarily means that native languages or official languages have to dissapear.