Genetically modified food (GM food) is an importance issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s live in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. (approximately 250 words)

People have different viewpoints about whether bioengineered food can be new alternative provisions to make human life better or potential harm. While I agree that such a type of food could bring some benefits to mankind's life, I believe that its detrimental effects are more significant. On the one hand, genetically modified foods are associated with several positive impacts. Firstly, the development of this food can help improve the quality of the environment. More specifically, genetically modified crops do not need pesticides to be stronger against various types of insects or pests that can destroy them, just as with genetic engineering, plants and crops can be grown in more areas, including those that previously were not suitable for agriculture. Therefore, the proportion of oxygen in the environment would be increased, minimizing that of carbon dioxide, which in turn could reduce global warming. Another benefit that genetic organism technology is believed to bring is that crops can be engineered to withstand extreme weather conditions and fluctuations, which means that there will be good quality and sufficient yields even in adverse or severe weather conditions. As a result, consumers will have abundant selections of various types of food at all times and farmers will earn more income steadily without depending on climate changes. On the other hand, I believe that there are many drawbacks to bioengineered foods despite these above arguments. The biggest one could be that they can have harmful effects on the human body. It is believed that the consumption of these genetically engineered foods can cause the development of diseases that are immune to antibiotics. In addition, people who consume such foods are likely to have a high probability of developing cancers as these conditions are caused by mutations in DNA, so foods with added genes can affect human DNA and generate chronic illnesses. Besides, such a method of food production could lead to the formation of a lower level of biodiversity. Some organisms in the ecosystem could be harmed because genetically modified crops can be toxic or unfavorable to them, which can lead to their reduced numbers or even extinction. For example, when a certain pest that is harmful to crops is removed, it can also mark the removal of a food source for a certain species. In conclusion, although bioengineered foods can be one of the solutions for food supply, conventional foods are still the most adequate for human health and nature.